Sitcoms create story worlds too…


Last Thursday night I sat down for my weekly ritual two hour sitcom marathon, which is sure to include the latest episode of The Office. I’ll also mention that it happens to be one of my favourite shows that still airs and is one of my top five on my facebook profile at the moment. The next day, as I was checking my facebook for notifications (only had one… someone commented on a picture I liked) I noticed that The Office fan page had been posting links that weren’t solely for promotional purposes (a.k.a. Not a sneak peek).

One such post was a slideshow from Angela’s wedding, which she mentions in one of the interview clips from the previous night’s episode. I thought, “Wow, what an interesting way to extend the world of Dunder Mifflin!” So I decided to check them out, which took me to the NBC website. Through some minor lurking about, I discovered several more goodies for any Office fan, including a blog from Oscar Martinez called “There’s no accounting for taste,” tests to find out which side of “The List” you were on (those who watched the episode will understand the reference. Those that didn’t… don’t worry. We all make mistakes.) and a fake website for Sabre, the company that bought out Dunder Mifflin.

This was the most intriguing as it looked very real including a bio of the new CEO, descriptions of their printing products, contact us, and basically anything else you might find on a corporate style website (Makes me wonder how many people have tried buying a printer from it…). As a nice finishing touch, they included the promo corporate video from last season on one of the pages.

Kudos to The Office for reminding us that giant fantasy stories aren’t the only ones in the transmedial extension of their world business!
-Michael Davison

If you wanna check it out:
http://www.sabre-corp.com

About transmediums

transmediums. more than meets the eye.
This entry was posted in Case Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sitcoms create story worlds too…

  1. Jill says:

    Have you see Subtle Sexuality http://www.subtlesexuality.com/? It’s a website devoted to the girl band, Subtle Sexuality, which is made of Kelly Kapoor and Erin Hannon. Not only does the band have a website, music videos, a documentary, a Twitter feed and Facebook page, they also sell their music on iTunes.

Leave a Reply

